Christmas cakes 2011

Here are the cakes I made for family this christmas.

Christmas tree and presents cake

Christmas tree and presents

Choir boys Christmas cake

Choir boys Christmas cake

Poinsettia Christmas cake

Poinsettia design Christmas cake

For the two square ones I tried a different method for the lettering.  I used royal icing but piped the letters out on parchment then when dry transferred them to the cake.  I did a couple of sets which was good as i did break a few so was pleased to have some back ups.

I think I like doing the rectangle shaped cake for fruit cakes.  This time I tried a piping the lettering directly on the cake using two layers white on the bottom and a wriggly red top layer.  The poinsettia flowers were all piped royal icing.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

